Borletti-Buitoni Trust
BBT Artists Rewarding Musical Excellence
Diyang Mei
BBT Fellowship 2018

Diyang Mei - Biography

Winner of both First Prize and Audience Prize at the 2018 ARD Music Compeition for the Viola, Diyang Mei was born in China in 1994. At the age of five he started playing the violin. From 2005 to 2014, he studied the viola with Shaowu Wang in the Central Conservatory of Music Beijing’s Middle School.  Subsequently Diyang has participated in masterclasses given by well-known virtuosi such as Pinchas Zukerman, Nobuko Imai, Roberto Diaz, Paul Coletti, Thomas Riebl, Valentin Erben and Günther Pichler.

As a soloist he has performed with many orchestras, including Konzerthaus Orchester Berlin, Phiharmonic Orchestra Bad Reichenhall, Phiharmonic Orchestra Poznan, Chursächsiche Phiharmonie Bad Elster and Phiharmonic Youth Orchestra Busan, among others. As a chamber musician Diyang Mei has performed with the likes of Nicolas Chumachenco, Paul Coletti, Matthias Buchholz, Krzysztof Chorzelski, Wenn-Sinn Yang, Erika Geldsetzer, Martin Ostertag, Dag Jensen, Andrea Lieberknecht and Micheal Schäfer.

Diyang’s achievements have already encompassed a number of competition first prizes, including the 10th International Viola and Cello Competition VILLA DE LLANES (also special award) in Spain, 2008; the 19th Brahms International Viola Competition Austria, Pila International Music Festival Poland and IVC Young Artist Competition of the 40th International Viola Congress (‘most musial performer’) in Rochester, USA – all in 2012; 24th Cultural Committee Gasteig Competition for Strings in Munich and International Max Rostal Viola Competition (also special prize for young gifted finalists) in Berlin – both in 2015; and the 52nd Markneukirchen International Instrumental Viola Competition in 2017.

Since October 2014, Diyang Mei has been studying viola performance under Hariolf Schlichtig at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater München. Diyang Mei currently plays a Wolfgang Scharff viola generously donated by Ms Ingeborg Fahrenkamp-Schäffler.

Photographs by Colin Hattesley / Wei-Cheng Wang