Borletti-Buitoni Trust


BBT continues its participation in collaborative projects with music partners around the world.  These provide valuable opportunities for BBT award winners to work and perform with esteemed colleagues and mentors in renowned centres of musical excellence. As a result of launching BBT Communities in 2019, the Trust also sponsored a research initiative into the benefits of music in the realm of health and wellbeing.

University of Florida One Health Center of Excellence

The One Health Center of Excellence at the University of Florida focuses on understanding the interconnections between the health of humans, animals, plants, and the environment. BBT Communities has sponsored the 2019 UF Leonardo Fellowship which has been awarded to Aaron Colverson who is developing a summary of current knowledge on the use of music in patients affected by early onset Alzheimer’s Disease, as well as recommendations for patients and their families on how music can form part of care programmes.
University of Florida One Health Center Fellowship website

Società del Quartetto di Milano

BFounded in 1864 by Arrigo Boito and Tito Ricordi, with the intention to “encourage and disseminate devotion to good music through public and private concerts, especially of the quartet and symphonic repertoire,” the Società del Quartetto over 150 years has kept to this aim not only with performances in the Sala Verdi of the Milan Conservatory, but also other venues across Milan. Its ongoing roll-call of performers includes Jordi Savall, Andras Schiff, Daniil Trifonov, Ton Koopman, Krystian Zimerman, Angela Hewitt, The King’s Singer and many others. In addition the Società del Quartetto collaborates with the likes of La Scala, Le Dimore del Quartetto, Teatro Parenti, Casa Verdi, FAI, IED Milano and Civica Scuola di Musica Claudio Abbado. The City of Milan has recognised these efforts by conferring on the Società del Quartetto the Ambrogino d’oro, the city’s greatest honour. In June 2018 the Society announced its commitment to feature BBT artists in its future seasons, the first featured 2018 award winners Dudok Kwartet Amsterdam and clarinettist Annelien Van Wauwe in a concert on 6 November 2018.
Società del Quartetto di Milano website

Le Dimore del Quartetto

In collaboration with the Association of Italian Historic Houses (ADSI), the Italian National Trust (FAI), the European Historic Houses (EHH) and the Fundación de Casas Históricas y Singulares, Le Dimore del Quartetto has created a network of splendid houses to host young musicians for periods of intensive study. In return for this hospitality the musicians give a house concert, attracting new audiences to classical music who also benefit from privileged access to private residences of cultural significance. Founded in 2015 in Italy, it swiftly extended its reach into Europe to offer even greater possibilities for musicians. In 2019, the project received the European Heritage Award in the category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising. BBT pledges to support its award winners who want to take advantage of this exceptional opportunity.
Le Dimore del Quartetto website

Past Partnerships

Wilton’s Music Hall, London

In 2015 BBT collaborated with this historic London venue to present a series of experimental concerts, BBT Wednesdays at Wilton’s, to showcase classical music in the intimate setting of Wilton’s newly refurbished upstairs rooms. BBT artists Erik Bosgraaf (recorder), Alec Frank-Gemmill (horn), Bram van Sambeek (bassoon), Sean Shibe (guitar) and Kate Whitley (pianist/composer) led a variety of workshops, talks and informal performances.
Wilton’s Music Hall website
BBT Wednesdays at Wilton’s events page

Verbier Festival Academy

Believing that chamber music is an essential part of a young musician’s development, BBT supported the esteemed Verbier Festival Academy Chamber Music Programme for four consecutive years (2006-09).  BBT artists involved in the programme during this time included singers Ronan Collett (Prix Thierry Mermod for Voice 2006) and Joshua Hopkins (Prix d’Honneur winner 2008), violinists Jermolai Albiker and Vilde Frang, and the David Trio, Jerusalem Quartet, Navarra Quartet and Quatuor Ébène (Prix d’Honneur winner 2007).
Verbier Festival Academy website
BBT Verbier Festival Academy events page