Borletti-Buitoni Trust
BBT Artists Rewarding Musical Excellence
Zoltán Fejérvári
BBT Fellowship 2016

Zoltán Fejérvári - Press

Janáček – Solo Piano Works

After its first performance, Janáček tried to destroy his “sonata”, written in memory of a Czech patriot killed during protests in Brno in 1905. But the pianist Ludmila Tučková rescued two movements, played them to the composer in his old age and encouraged their publication. It’s an idiosyncratic work, and the second movement, Death, aches with sadness. The two collections of shorter pieces are idiomatically played by this young Hungarian.

Hugh Canning, Sunday Times, 2 June 2019